top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia

Anticipated Books of 2019 I Want to Read

Hello and welcome! If you have been here before, welcome back! Before we get into today's post I would like to apologize for my Goodreads link: I realized that nobody can see it because they set it to private because I'm not 18 yet. So, sorry about that. I'll add the widget back in May ;)


But that's not today's topic, today I will be talking about books that already have created a lot of anticipation among people, even if they are not out yet. Although this list is much longer, I only will focus on books I really, really want to read.


King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo

Ever since I read The Grisha Trilogy I've loved Leigh's books. She pretty much announces a new book and I'm ready to own it. While she's mostly known for the Six of Crows duology, I like her Grisha series better, and I think a big part of that was Nikolai Lantsov. Nikolai was my favorite part of the series, so when she announced King of Scars, I was ready to have it. Nikolai is so fun to read and I can't wait to read his story. The only thing is that if you want to read this you need to read her Grisha series and Six of Crows, but I think those are really good.


The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi


I personally have never read anything by Roshani Chokshi, but I feel like this looks like her strongest work, at least from what I could tell. This is about a treasure hunt of sorts, set in Paris 1889, with a ragtag team, headed by Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. I think what drew me in was not only the setting, but the fact that it was similar idea to Six of Crows. I love the tropes of going on a quest with a very eclectic team so I think it's going to be very fun!




Echanteé by Gita Trelease

This is actually another historical fiction story, also set in France. I really love historical fiction, especially if it is set during the French Revolution like this one is. It also looks like there is some court intrigue and magic, so this sounds like a dream book! At least for me haha







The Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan

This book’s main characters include a girl that speaks to their gods, a prince and a boy “with a secret”. Their mission is to assassinate the king, and of course, their paths meet. The summary on Goodreads also mentions a forbidden romance so that definitely intrigues me, especially because Roshani Chokshi says it is for those who “shipped Alina and the Darkling” in the Grisha Trilogy, so guess who’s here for that….there is also the fact that it’s a Gothic novel, which I believe should definitely make a comeback, at least in YA. Again, this book also has Russian/Polish elements, so that should be cool!








A Crystal of Time by Soman Chainani


The second book in the second SGE trilogy, the Camelot Years. I was expecting Agatha and Tedros to live it up in Camelot while Sophie chilled at school….well, not so much….

Holy. Crap. Guys. I have been waiting for this book since September 2017. I am starved for this continuation. He ended QFG on a cliffhanger and I have been waiting for over a year for it. I am not okay. This book has me scared out of my mind because the new antagonists are worse than anything seen before, and I’m just overall worried for the main characters. I’m obviously excited to see my favorite trio but, if this ends in another cliffhanger, I will lose my remaining sanity.






46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page